West Virginia Marijuana Laws Made Easy for You
April 17, 2018 - Marijuana Laws
West Virginia: The Better of the Two Virginias
West Virginia marijuana laws are a little stricter, as far as possession goes than the penalties in Virginia; you can get up to a $2,000 fine, as well as land 90 days to six months in prison. Just like in Virginia, possession counts as a low-level misdemeanor offense.
On the plus side, the fact that medical marijuana in West Virginia has been voted in for legalization puts it miles ahead of Virginia. Starting in July of 2018, patients will be allowed to possess and use marijuana for their ailments, and dispensaries will be starting up soon after. Is marijuana legal in West Virginia? Starting in July, it will be available medically, which is a start.
Current Legal Status in West Virginia
- Medical Marijuana in West Virginia: Legal starting in July 2018
- Recreational West Virginia Marijuana Laws: Still illegal
- Policy group(s) active in state: WV NORML
- Politician(s) leading legislative reform: Jim Justice, Richard Ojeda
- Top brand(s) based in state: None yet
- Tax revenue generated by legalization of medical marijuana: $0 because they haven’t opened any business yet
The downside here (similar to New York State) is that patients still cannot smoke the plant, with current West Virginia marijuana laws. Medical marijuana in West Virginia can only be used as oil, tinctures, and products that go past the actual flower.
Medical cannabis is on the way, but smoking flower still has a long way to go, in West Virginia. Check out some states where you have more freedom with medical cannabis, by looking at all US marijuana laws here!