Marijuana Laws

Oklahoma Marijuana Laws Made Easy for You

Oklahoma: Not Too Green in the Panhandle

Oklahoma marijuana laws are pretty conservative, to say the least, making them a little less sensible than states like Kansas, in some ways. Oklahoma is known for having some of the strictest laws out there, with first-time possession of any amount landing you a misdemeanor, a $1,000 fine, and up to a year in jail. Punishments in Oklahoma may be strict on paper, but they’re even more so in real life; they have put people away for life on possession, including a man that got a felony charge – with life in prison – for having 0.16 grams back in 1992.

Medical marijuana in Oklahoma isn’t too great either, because all you can really use is CBD oil. A ballot was to be held in 2016, for full medical legalization, but after some controversy involving a rewrite of the language by the attorney general, the vote was pushed back, to June of 2018. Is marijuana legal in Oklahoma? Not even close.

Current Legal Status in Oklahoma

  • Medical Marijuana in Oklahoma: Only CBD oil since 2015
  • Recreational Oklahoma Marijuana Laws: Don’t even think about it

  • Top brand(s) based in state: None
  • Tax revenue generated by legalization of any marijuana: $0

As of now, the Oklahoma marijuana laws aren’t looking too bright. Advocacy groups are pushing to at least get medical marijuana into Oklahoma, but many lawmakers are pushing back as hard as they can.

Not okay with Oklahoma’s strict stance on weed? Check out all US marijuana laws here!